The Lutheran congregation of the municipality is known from 1646, it was the filial church of the mother church of Bogyoszló. The residents of Jobaháza who retained their faith joined the congregation of Farád following the publication of the Patent of Toleration and the emancipation of the congregation of Farád.The congregation received land in 1842, then started building the new school and teacher’s residence in 1847. They received a bell weighing 190 kilograms in 1859, then started construction again in 1869: they built a separate school which also served as a house of worship. Jobaháza has had a vibrant church society, and the sorority was established in 1896 which was operated until the beginning of the 1950s. The present chapel with a bell tower was completed in 1997 with the cooperation of the congregation.
The church, which was consecrated in 1869, was built on the site of the old, wooden-towered church, presumably by extending it. The top of the tower, which rises from the Romanticist-style facade, is adorned with a double cross. The exceptionally beautiful Baroque high altar probably came to Jobaháza from a monastic church. There are four gilded statues of saints – Peter and Paul the Apostles and two unknown saints – between the columns of the three-level altar structure dating from around 1750. There are two carved angels holding crowns raised in glory, with statues of St Barbara and St Agatha beside them. Small statues of St Jude and St Joseph stand on either side of the altar. The Rococo pulpit was made in the second half of the 18th century. In the churchyard, there is a statue of the Virgin Mary holding Jesus in her arms, erected in 1870 on a pillar, as well as a stone cross made in 1938 “to commemorate the Eucharistic Holy Year”. (Béla Bartók’s later collecting work began in June 1906 at Jobaháza, where he recorded 40 folk songs.)