Trnava – Orthodox Synagogue
The Orthodox Synagogue, due to its size called the "Little Synagogue", is a hall building with no towers oriented east-west direction, indoors with female galleries carried by cast-iron columns. In addition, several original historicizing art-craft details and remnants of the original painting have been preserved in the interior. The continuity of the acting of the Jewish community was interrupted by the onset of fascism in 1939, after the World War II the synagogue was only short-lived and its original function ceased to exist at the beginning of the 1950s. Since then, it has been used for various utilitarian, mainly storage purposes, and has decayed for many years. In the early 1990s, the Jewish community reconstituted the synagogue and then sold it to private property. It has undergone a complete construction renovation and after decades it has been made available to the public again. Its revival, although not with its original function, but with new cultural and social use, is in a marginal area, such as the restoration of the monuments of Jewish architecture in Slovakia, a relatively unique work.
Present use: café, exhibitions
Address: Haulíkova street no. 405/3, 917 00 Trnava
Telephone: +421 910 921 922
E-mail : firstname.lastname@example.org