In 1681, Parliament permitted Protestants to practice their religion in only two settlements in the county of Sopron: Nemeskér and Vadosfa.
The Nemeskér Evangelical church was erected in 1732; its tower was added in 1862. The wooden joists of its timber frame and the crenelated wooden gallery are an outstanding monument to carpentry. Parts of the unique, richly carved late Renaissance pulpit altar were made in the mid-17th century. The pulpit railing boasts carved figures of the four Evangelists and there are carved acanthus leaves with cherub heads on the support column. The Baroque altar gained its present form after the 18th-century reconstruction. The altarpiece depicts the Last Supper. According to its multilingual inscription, the baptismal font was made in 1733-34.